History

An Interesting Place


1850s: The three beaches at Carlyon Bay - Crinnis, Shorthorn and Polgaver - began forming following the diversion of the Sandy River. The river deposited sand (stent) from the china clay quarries over a period of about 80 years, to the 1930s.

1920/30s: The site's fascinating leisure and tourism history began in the 1920s. The complex, built in 1936, included tennis courts - used for practice prior to Wimbledon - and an Olympic size swimming pool. Afternoon tea dances and parties were regular features.

1940s: During World War II the beach was largely closed but provided classrooms and sports facilities for The King's School Canterbury who stayed at the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

1960/70s: In 1960 the complex was renovated and re-launched as a concert venue, The Cornwall Coliseum. It hosted some of the biggest names in the world of entertainment and music (The Who, Shirley Bassey, Cliff Richard) reaching a peak in the 1980s.

1990s: The site fell into disrepair through lack of funding. Various planning permissions have been granted for development at Carlyon Bay. Significantly, in 1990, planning permission was granted for 511 holiday dwellings, with leisure/commercial space. This permission was implemented.

2011: New planning permission issued for a mixed residential and holiday resort.